Doodle Journal

Growing up, I was never a good drawer/sketcher/doodler, etc. I would see other children who were just so talented at creating figures and creatures and such, and I would be over here like, ๐Ÿ˜. During my classes, I would doodle on the side of my notebooks, and all I saw were scribbles and works of lines – nothing more, nothing less.

The older I became, the more I wanted to be a good drawer, and (not to be a Negative Nelly) but I still have yet to see that skill improve! Haha! So I did what mostly any other person would do, and I researched some tips on how to improve your drawing skills! And it came down to one thing:

Buy yourself a sketchbook/doodle journal, for the sole purpose of doodling!

For me, it wasn’t enough to doodle only on my notebooks meant for class, but once I purchased a doodle journal, I had something to look forward to throughout the day. Plus, I was able to look back at my previous doodles and see some progress.

Also, there’s nothing wrong with copying/tracing other works of art!

Copying another person’s work is only wrong if you try to make it your own (as in – you taking the credit). But for practicing purposes, trace and duplicate away! I am able to draw something, but only if I see the object in front of me. So at times, I do duplicate, but not very often.

I hope each of these tips are helping you improve in your lettering skills! I’ll be back with more tips. Until then, happy lettering! โ˜บ๏ธ

Leave a Reply

